City market

The City Market on Marktplatz offers fresh and seasonal goods.
The City Market on Marktplatz offers fresh and seasonal goods.

Number 1 fresh goods market

For regional producers, the city’s most traditional and biggest fresh goods market is a matter close to their hearts. Located in front of the historic City Hall, the market is a colourful event not just on sunny days, offering an abundance of delicacies and specialities such as fruit and vegetables, flowers, meat, mushrooms, honey, wine, coffee, dried goods, bread, handicrafts, tea and much more. The market, which can look back on a long tradition, is situated at the heart of an exclusive business area. Gourmets will find delicacies and specialities from the region, Switzerland and around the world. The friendly marketeers working on this traditional fresh produce market offer great customer service and personal advice.
  

Opening times

Tuesday to Thursday from 7.00 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Friday and Saturday from 7.00 a.m. to 6 p.m.

No market on Sundays and public holidays, as well as during the Basel Fasnacht (2 to 4 March 2020).

up

Special opening times

City Market open from 7 a.m. until 6 p.m. (because of the public holidays)
Thursday 9 April 2020 (Holy Thursday)
Thursday 30 April 2020 (day before first of May)
Wednesday 20 May 2020 (Wednesday before Ascension Day)
Thursday 11 June 2020 (Corpus Christi)

City Market open until 3 p.m.
(until then the City Market must be cleared completely)
Saturday 25 April 2020 (Event „Staffellauf „Quer durch Basel“)

City Market open until 2.30 p.m.
(until then the City Market must be cleared completely)
Friday 31 July 2019 (Swiss National Day "Bundesfeier am Rhein)
Saturday 28 November 2019 (Event „38. Basler Stadtlauf“)
Saturday 05 December 2019 (Event „Harley Niggi Näggi“)

City Market open until 2 p.m.
(until then the City Market must be cleared completely)
Friday 14 August 2019 (Event „Em Bebbi sy Jazz“)

Opening Sundays, open from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Sunday 13 December 2019
Sunday 20 December 2019

Please note that opening hours can change at short notice.

up