City market

The City Market on Marktplatz offers fresh and seasonal goods.
The City Market on Marktplatz offers fresh and seasonal goods.

Number 1 fresh goods market

For regional producers, the city’s most traditional and biggest fresh goods market is a matter close to their hearts. Located in front of the historic City Hall, the market is a colourful event not just on sunny days, offering an abundance of delicacies and specialities such as fruit and vegetables, flowers, meat, mushrooms, honey, wine, coffee, dried goods, bread, handicrafts, tea and much more. The market, which can look back on a long tradition, is situated at the heart of an exclusive business area. Gourmets will find delicacies and specialities from the region, Switzerland and around the world. The friendly marketeers working on this traditional fresh produce market offer great customer service and personal advice.
  

Opening times

Tuesday to Thursday from 7.00 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Friday and Saturday from 7.00 a.m. to 6 p.m.

No market on Sundays and public holidays.

Special opening times

City Market open until 6 p.m. (aufgrund der Feiertage)
Thursday 18 April 2019 (Holy Thursday)
Wednesday 29 May 2019 (Wednesday before Ascension Day)
Thursday 20 June 2019 (Corpus Christi)
Wednesday 15 August 2019 (Assumption Day)
Thursday 03 October 2019 (Anniversary of German unification)

City Market open until 2 p.m.
(until then the City Market must be cleared completely)
Friday 16 August 2019 (Event „Em Bebbi sy Jazz“)

City Market open until 2.30 p.m.
(until then the City Market must be cleared completely)
Wednesday 31 July 2019 (Bundesfeier am Rhein)
Saturday 30 November 2019 (Event „37. Basler Stadtlauf“)
Saturday 07 December 2019 (Event „Harley Niggi Näggi“)

City Market open until 3 p.m.
(until then the City Market must be cleared completely)
Saturday 06. April 2019 (Veranstaltung „Staffellauf „Quer durch Basel“)

Opening Sundays, open from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Sunday 15 December 2019
Sunday 22 December 2019

Please be aware, that the opening times can change on short notice.

up