An Architectural Mecca

Building on the Novartis Campus by Diener & Diener in collaboration with Gerold Wiederin and Helmut Federle.
Building on the Novartis Campus by Diener & Diener in collaboration with Gerold Wiederin and Helmut Federle.

Contemporary architecture is one of Basel’s trademarks. Twelve winners of the ‘Pritzker Prize’, the most prestigious architecture prize worldwide, have implemented projects in or around Basel. The city is also home to numerous architectural works of art that draw visitors from around the world. Visitors arriving by rail can glimpse the first highlights in and around the main station: the copper signal tower, the locomotive depot, and the glass palace known as the Alsace Gate, all by Basel’s own star architects Herzog & de Meuron. Reflected in the glass façade of the Alsace Gate is the gleaming white Euregio office building by the American architect Richard Meier. Not far from here is the Peter Merian House by Zwimpfer Partners with its spectacular, emerald-green façade executed by the artist Donald Judd. A few steps along is the Jakob Burckhardt House by Zwimpfer Partners and Jakob Steib. Finally, a brief five-minute walk from the main train station brings you to the bank building by Mario Botta in the shape of a round stone sculpture.

Groundbreaking museum architecture

In the last two decades, private patronage has allowed for the construction of pioneering museum buildings, such as Herzog & de Meuron’s monumental Schaulager in Münchenstein, Fondation Beyeler by Renzo Piano in Riehen and the Museum Tinguely by Mario Botta. Just across the border in Weil am Rhein, Vitra Design Museum displays buildings by Frank O. Gehry, Zaha Hadid, Nicolas Grimshaw, Alvaro Siza and Tadao Ando. Under the direction of Herzog & de Meuron, the Museum der Kulturen experienced a considerable expansion to become a new highlight in Basel’s collection of visionary architecture. In spring 2016 has taken place the grand opening of the extension to the Kunstmuseum Basel designed by Christ & Gantenbein Architects.

Spectacular large-scale projects

Among Basel’s architectural highlights are the 105-metre-high Messe tower by architects Morger Degelo Marques and the St. Jakob-Park football stadium by Herzog & de Meuron. The new Novartis Campus next to the French border has been underway since 2001. The illustrious list of architects giving shape to this centre of innovation includes Tadao Ando, David Chipperfield, Diener & Diener, Frank O. Gehry, Adolf Krischanitz, Vittorio Magnago Lampugnani, Peter Märkli, Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa (SAANA office), Alvaro Siza and Eduardo Souto de Moura. In 2013, the Exhibition Centre in Basel received its new ‘City Lounge ‘exhibition hall designed by Herzog & de Meuron. The same architects also designed Switzerland’s highest office tower, the 178-metre-high Roche tower in Kleinbasel, which opened in 2015.

Swiss Architecture Museum

Basel is a favourite destination for architects, art historians and architecture lovers, who all appreciate the diversity of modern architecture the city has to offer. It comes as no surprise, then, that Basel is home to the Swiss Architecture Museum, where changing exhibits of international and Swiss architecture are on display.

La Mecque de l’architecture

Bâtiment du Campus Novartis de Diener & Diener en collaboration avec Gerold Wiederin et Helmut Federle. 
<br/>
Le Campus Novartis offre non seulement d'excellentes conditions de travail mais aussi de la grande architecture.

L’architecture contemporaine est l’image de marque de la ville de Bâle. Douze architectes récompensés par le «prix Pritzker», le plus célèbre prix international attribué aux architectes, ont façonné la ville de Bâle et ses alentours. Les nombreuses œuvres architecturales attitrent les passionnés d’architecture du monde entier. Les premières se trouvent à la gare où le bureau d’architectes Herzog & de Meuron a érigé le poste d’aiguillage en cuivre, le dépôt des locomotives et le palais de verre de l’Elsässertor dont la façade se reflète sur l’immeuble commercial blanc Euregio de l’Américain Richard Meier. Non loin de là se dresse l’immeuble Peter Merian, érigé par Zwimpfer Partner avec sa façade de verre spectaculaire à reflets vert émeraude réalisée par l’artiste Donald Judd ainsi que l’immeuble Jakob Burckhardt des architectes Zwimpfer Partner et Jakob Steib. La banque réalisée par Mario Botta comme une sculpture ronde se trouve à cinq minutes de la gare.

Une architecture muséale avant-gardiste 

Ces vingt dernières années, des fonds privés ont permis de réaliser des musées dont l’architecture moderne a fait le tour du monde: le monumental Schaulager de Herzog & de Meuron à Münchenstein, la Fondation Beyeler de Renzo Piano à Riehen et le Museum Tinguely de Mario Botta. Le Vitra Design Museum de Weil am Rhein est un complexe auquel ont œuvré Frank O. Gehry, Zaha Hadid, Nicolas Grimshaw, Alvaro Siza et Tadao Ando. L’extension du confiée à Herzog & de Meuron est un bâtiment marquant – une nouvelle perle de l’architecture avant-gardiste qui s’égrène dans la ville. Depuis printemps 2016, le Kunstmuseum Basel comprends un nouveau bâtiment réalisé par les architectes Christ & Gantenbein.

Les grands projets incontournables

Parmi les grandes réalisations architecturales de Bâle citons la Messeturm haute de 105 m conçue par le collectif d’architectes Morger Degelo Marques et le stade de football St. Jakob-Park de Herzog & de Meuron. Depuis 2001, des architectes renommés participent à la réalisation du Novartis Campus: des œuvres de Tadao Ando, David Chipperfield, Diener & Diener, Frank O. Gehry, Adolf Krischanitz, Vittorio Magnago Lampugnani, Peter Märkli, Kazuyo Sejima et Ryue Nishizawa (bureau SAANA), Alvaro Siza, Eduardo Souto de Moura donnent un visage à ce centre de l‘innovation. En 2013, le site de Messe Basel a inauguré sa nouvelle halle de foire avec la spectaculaire «City Lounge» des architectes stars Herzog
& de Meuron. La tour administrative de 178 m de haut pour Roche dans le Petit-Bâle et achevée en 2015 a également été réalisée par le cabinet d’architectes Herzog
& de Meuron.
 

Musée suisse de l’architecture

Simples amateurs d’architecture, architectes et historiens de l’art apprécient la diversité de l’architecture contemporaine à Bâle et se déplacent pour l’admirer. Bâle est la Mecque de l’architecture. Il tombait donc sous le sens d’y construire un Musée suisse de l’architecture. Il présente des expositions de très haut niveau consacrées à l’architecture nationale et internationale.