Climate & Energy

The Canton of Basel-Stadt has been pursuing a progressive environmental and climate policy of an exemplary nature for decades. Climate protection also enjoys broad support in the Canton of Basel-Stadt. For example, in February 2019 Basel became the first Swiss city to declare a climate emergency, and in February 2020 the parliament’s Special Commission on Climate Protection commenced its work. The counter-proposal of the government to the "Climate Justice Initiative", which will be put to the vote in 2022, envisages a reduction of greenhouse gas emissions to net zero by 2040. Unlike other cities, Basel has the best chances of achieving this goal. This makes Basel a role model for environmental and climate policy at home and abroad.

Renewable energies and energy efficiency

Environmental and energy policy in Basel has a long history. As early as the 1970s, the population prevented the construction of the nuclear power plant in Kaiseraugst. As a result, a ban on nuclear power on one hand and the advancement of renewable energies on the other were laid down in the constitution. Since 2009, 100 per cent of the electricity produced by Industrielle Werke Basel (IWB) has come from renewable sources. In 2004, Riehen was the first municipality in Europe to be awarded the "European Energy Award" in gold, and the city of Basel has also carried the gold label since 2006.

Basel-Stadt has an ambitious energy law which aims to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, increase energy efficiency and promote renewable energy. It frequently serves as a model throughout Switzerland.

Read more

nach oben

Sustainable mobility

In the area of mobility, too, the Canton of Basel-Stadt is taking various measures to ensure effective environmental and climate protection: including continuous improvements to the public transport infrastructure, the management of parking space and mobility, as well as measures to promote walking and cycling as well as e-mobility.

Read more 

nach oben

Cooperazione europea

The Border Canton of Basel-Stadt relies on European cooperation in environmental and climate protection, for instance in the German-French-Swiss network TRION-climate, in the European Climate Alliance, or in cross-border water protection. Cross-border climate protection is also a focus of the Basel-Stadt presidency of the Upper Rhine Conference (ORK) 2022.

nach oben

Smart City Strategy: Digitisation for Sustainable Development

In 2018, the government adopted the "Smart City ­Basel" strategy. Smart City Basel focuses on the targeted use of digital technologies and data to safeguard the quality of life, facilitate innovation and promote sustainable development in a resource-conserving manner. As a space for dialogue and experimentation oriented towards innovative and cooperative smart city projects, the Canton of Basel-Stadt has opened the Smart City Lab Basel on the Wolf site in collaboration with the SBB.

Read more

nach oben

Klima & Energie

Der Kanton Basel-Stadt betreibt schon seit Jahrzehnten eine fortschrittliche Umwelt- und Klimapolitik mit Vorbildcharakter. Auch der Klimaschutz findet im Kanton Basel-Stadt breite Unterstützung. So hat Basel im Februar 2019 als erste Schweizer Stadt den Klimanotstand ausgerufen und im Februar 2020 nahm die Spezialkommission Klimaschutz des Grossen Rats ihre Arbeit auf. Der Gegenvorschlag des Grossen Rats zur «Klimagerechtigkeitsinitiative», welche 2022 zur Abstimmung kommt, sieht eine Senkung der Treibhausgasemissionen bis im Jahr 2037 auf netto null vor. Basel hat – im Unterschied zu anderen Städten – beste Chancen, dieses Ziel zu erreichen. Dadurch avanciert Basel zum Vorbild für die Umwelt- und Klimapolitik im In- und Ausland.

Erneuerbare Energien und Energieeffizienz

Die Umwelt- und Energiepolitik in Basel hat Geschichte. Bereits in den 1970er-Jahren verhinderte die Bevölkerung den Bau des Atomkraftwerkes in Kaiseraugst. Als Folge wurden in der Verfassung ein Verbot für Atomstrom und die Förderung von erneuerbaren Energien festgelegt. Seit 2009 stammt der Strom der Industriellen Werke Basel (IWB) zu 100 Prozent aus erneuerbaren Quellen. Riehen wurde im Jahre 2004 als erste Gemeinde Europas mit dem "European Energy Award" in Gold ausgezeichnet, und auch die Stadt Basel trägt seit 2006 das Goldlabel.

Basel-Stadt verfügt über ein ambitioniertes Energiegesetz, welches die Reduktion der Treibhausgasemissionen, die Steigerung der Energieeffizienz und die Förderung der erneuerbaren Energie zum Ziel hat und schweizweit immer wieder als Vorbild dient.

Mehr dazu 

nach oben

Nachhaltige Mobilität

Auch im Bereich der Mobilität sorgt der Kanton Basel-Stadt mit verschiedenen Massnahmen für einen wirksamen Umwelt- und Klimaschutz: unter anderem mit einer stetigen Verbesserung der ÖV-Infrastruktur, mit einem Parkraum- und Mobilitätsmanagement sowie mit Massnahmen zur Förderung des Fuss- und Veloverkehrs und der E-Mobilität.

Mehr dazu

nach oben

Europäische Zusammenarbeit

Der Grenzkanton Basel-Stadt setzt beim Umwelt- und Klimaschutz auf europäische Zusammenarbeit, etwa im deutsch-französisch-schweizerischen Netzwerk TRION-climate, im Europäischen Klimabündnis oder beim grenzübergreifenden Gewässerschutz. Der grenzüberschreitende Klimaschutz ist auch ein Schwerpunkt der baselstädtischen Präsidentschaft der Oberrheinkonferenz (ORK) 2022.

nach oben

Smart City Strategie: Digitalisierung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung

Der Regierungsrat hat 2018 die Strategie „Smart City ­Basel“ beschlossen. Die Smart City Basel setzt digitale Technologien und Daten gezielt ein, um die Lebensqualität zu sichern, Innovationen zu ermöglichen und ressourcenschonend eine nachhaltige Entwicklung zu fördern. Als Dialog- und Experimentierraum für innovative und kooperative Smart City Projekte hat der Kanton Basel-Stadt zusammen mit der SBB das Smart City Lab Basel auf dem Areal Wolf eröffnet.  

Mehr dazu

nach oben