Climate & Energy

The Canton of Basel-Stadt has been pursuing a progressive environmental and climate policy of an exemplary nature for decades. Climate protection also enjoys broad support in the Canton of Basel-Stadt. For example, in February 2019 Basel became the first Swiss city to declare a climate emergency, and in February 2020 the parliament’s Special Commission on Climate Protection commenced its work. The counter-proposal of the government to the "Climate Justice Initiative", which will be put to the vote in 2022, envisages a reduction of greenhouse gas emissions to net zero by 2040. Unlike other cities, Basel has the best chances of achieving this goal. This makes Basel a role model for environmental and climate policy at home and abroad.

Renewable energies and energy efficiency

Environmental and energy policy in Basel has a long history. As early as the 1970s, the population prevented the construction of the nuclear power plant in Kaiseraugst. As a result, a ban on nuclear power on one hand and the advancement of renewable energies on the other were laid down in the constitution. Since 2009, 100 per cent of the electricity produced by Industrielle Werke Basel (IWB) has come from renewable sources. In 2004, Riehen was the first municipality in Europe to be awarded the "European Energy Award" in gold, and the city of Basel has also carried the gold label since 2006.

Basel-Stadt has an ambitious energy law which aims to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, increase energy efficiency and promote renewable energy. It frequently serves as a model throughout Switzerland.

Read more

nach oben

Sustainable mobility

In the area of mobility, too, the Canton of Basel-Stadt is taking various measures to ensure effective environmental and climate protection: including continuous improvements to the public transport infrastructure, the management of parking space and mobility, as well as measures to promote walking and cycling as well as e-mobility.

Read more 

nach oben

Cooperazione europea

The Border Canton of Basel-Stadt relies on European cooperation in environmental and climate protection, for instance in the German-French-Swiss network TRION-climate, in the European Climate Alliance, or in cross-border water protection. Cross-border climate protection is also a focus of the Basel-Stadt presidency of the Upper Rhine Conference (ORK) 2022.

nach oben

Smart City Strategy: Digitisation for Sustainable Development

In 2018, the government adopted the "Smart City ­Basel" strategy. Smart City Basel focuses on the targeted use of digital technologies and data to safeguard the quality of life, facilitate innovation and promote sustainable development in a resource-conserving manner. As a space for dialogue and experimentation oriented towards innovative and cooperative smart city projects, the Canton of Basel-Stadt has opened the Smart City Lab Basel on the Wolf site in collaboration with the SBB.

Read more

nach oben

Climat & Énergie

Le canton de Bâle-Ville mène une politique environnementale et climatique novatrice et exemplaire, et cela depuis des décennies. La protection du climat bénéficie également d’un large soutien dans le canton de Bâle-Ville. En février 2019, Bâle est ainsi devenue la première ville suisse à déclarer l’urgence climatique et en février 2020, la Commission spéciale pour la protection du climat du Grand Conseil a commencé ses travaux. La contre-proposition du Grand Conseil à propos de l’« Initiative pour la justice climatique » qui sera examinée en 2022, prévoit une réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre à zéro net d’ici 2037. Contrairement à d’autres villes, Bâle a les meilleures chances d’atteindre cet objectif.
Bâle devient ainsi un modèle en matière de politique environnementale et climatique dans le pays et à l’étranger.

Énergies renouvelables et efficacité énergétique

La politique environnementale et énergétique de Bâle a déjà une histoire. Dès les années 1970, la population a empêché la construction de la centrale nucléaire de Kaiseraugst. Par voie de conséquence, la Constitution a prévu une interdiction de l’énergie nucléaire et la promotion des énergies renouvelables. Depuis 2009, l’électricité des Industrielle Werke Basel (IWB) provient à 100% de sources renouvelables. En 2004, Riehen a été la première commune d’Europe à recevoir l’«European Energy Award» d’or, et la ville de Bâle détient également le Goldlabel depuis 2006.

Bâle-Ville dispose d’une loi ambitieuse sur l’énergie qui vise à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, à accroître l’efficacité énergétique et à promouvoir les énergies renouvelables et sert de modèle dans toute la Suisse.

En savoir plus 

Vers le haut

Mobilité durable

Dans le domaine de la mobilité également, le canton de Bâle-Ville prend diverses mesures pour assurer une protection efficace de l’environnement et du climat : entre autres, avec l’amélioration continue des infrastructures de transport public, avec la gestion des places de stationnement et de la mobilité, ainsi que par des mesures visant à promouvoir la circulation piétonnière et cycliste ainsi que la mobilité électrique.

En savoir plus

 

Vers le haut

Coopération européenne

Le canton frontalier de Bâle-Ville s’appuie sur la coopération européenne en matière de protection de l’environnement et du climat, par exemple dans le réseau franco-germano-suisse TRION-climate, dans l’Alliance pour le climat Europe ou dans la protection transfrontalière de l’eau. La protection transfrontalière du climat est également au centre des préoccupations de la présidence de Bâle-Ville de la Conférence du Rhin supérieur 2022.

 

Vers le haut

Stratégie Smart City : la numérisation au service du développement durable

En 2018, le Conseil d'État a adopté la stratégie « Smart City Basel ». Smart City Basel utilise les technologies et les données numériques de manière ciblée pour préserver la qualité de vie, favoriser les innovations et promouvoir le développement durable tout en préservant les ressources. En tant qu’espace de dialogue et d’expérimentation pour les projets Smart City innovants et coopératifs, le canton de Bâle-Ville et les CFF ont ouvert le Smart City Lab Basel dans le quartier de Wolf. 

En savoir plus

 

Vers le haut